Honors and Awards

Jump below to

International honors and awards

Ebert Prize
American Pharmacists Association–Academy of Pharmaceutical Research and Science (APhA–APRS)

2013: Leslie Benet, PhD

North American Scientific Achievement Award
International Society for the Study of Xenobiotics

2017: Kathy Giacomini, PhD

2015: Leslie Benet, PhD

Paul Ehrlich Magic Bullet Lifetime Achievement Award
International Society of Anti-Infective Pharmacology and the German Pharmaceutical Society

2008: Leslie Benet, PhD

Sloan Research Fellowship
Alfred P. Sloan Foundation

2013: Ryan Hernandez, PhD

2013: Sophie Dumont, PhD

2005: Tanja Kortemme, PhD

WH & WL Bragg Prize
International Union of Crystallography (IUCr)

2020: James Fraser, PhD

National honors and awards

Bernard B. Brodie Award in Drug Metabolism and Disposition
American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics

2020: Kathy Giacomini, PhD

Bristol-Myers Squibb Mentorship in Clinical Pharmacology Award
American College of Clinical Pharmacology

2019: Deanna Kroetz, PhD

Career Award
National Science Foundation (NSF)

2016: Sophie Dumont, PhD

2008: Tanja Kortemme, PhD

2013: Adam Abate, PhD

Distinguished Pharmaceutical Scientist Award
American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists

2021: Kathy Giacomini, PhD

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and the American Society of Nephrology

2021: The Kidney Project, Shuvo Roy, PhD

2020: The Kidney Project, Shuvo Roy, PhD

Kimmel Scholars Program
Sidney Kimmel Foundation for Cancer Research

2013: Sophie Dumont, PhD

Leon Goldberg Early Investigator Award
American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics (ASCPT)

2021: Rada Savic, PhD

2014: Nadav Ahituv, PhD

2002: Deanna Kroetz, PhD

1990: Kathy Giacomini, PhD

Margaret Oakley Dayhoff Award
Biophysical Society

2016: Sophie Dumont, PhD

NIH Director’s New Innovator Award
National Institutes of Health

2020: Seth Shipman, PhD

2015: Sophie Dumont, PhD

2014: Adam Abate, PhD

2010: Michael Fischbach, PhD

Oscar B. Hunter Memorial Award in Therapeutics
American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics (ASCPT)

2010: Leslie Benet, PhD

Paul Dawson Biotechnology Award
American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP)

2012: Tejal Desai, PhD

2005: Kathy Giacomini, PhD

2000: Frank Szoka, PhD

Pew Biomedical Scholar, Pew Charitable Trusts

2020: Seth Shipman

Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers

2016: Adam Abate, PhD

Rawls Palmer Progress in Medicine Award
American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics (ASCPT)

2022: Deanna Kroetz, PhD

2009: Kathy Giacomini, PhD

1995: Leslie Benet, PhD

Remington Honor Medal, American Pharmacists Association (APhA)

2016: Leslie Benet, PhD

Rita Allen Foundation Scholar (US)

2013: Sophie Dumont, PhD

Searle Scholar, Kinship Foundation

2014: James Fraser, PhD

2013: Sophie Dumont, PhD

U.S. Presidential Volunteer Service Award - Gold Medal

2022: Shuvo Roy, PhD

Volwiler Research Achievement Award, American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP)

2018: Kathy Giacomini, PhD

1991: Leslie Benet, PhD

WICB Junior Award for Excellence in Research, American Society for Cell Biology

2018: Sophie Dumont, PhD

W.M. Keck Foundation Medical Research Award

2013: Tanja Kortemme, PhD

State and regional awards

Shu Chien Early Career Award finalist
Bioengineering Institute of California

2021: Seth Shipman, PhD

Biohub Investigator Program, Chan Zuckerberg Initiative

The CZ Biohub Investigator Program funds research by world-renowned scientists, engineers, and technologists from UC San Francisco, UC Berkeley, and Stanford University.


Tanja Kortemme, PhD

Rada Savic, PhD

Seth Shipman, PhD


Adam Abate, PhD

Sophie Dumont, PhD

Tanja Kortemme, PhD

Judith Pool Award, Association for Women in Science, Northern California Chapter

2020: Tejal Desai, PhD

2014: Deanna Kroetz, PhD

Medal of Excellence in the Breakthrough Innovators Special Recognition Category
American Association of Kidney Patients (AAKP)

2022: Shuvo Roy, PhD

University of Washington School of Pharmacy Distinguished Alumnus Award for Excellence in Pharmaceutical Sciences and Research

2018: Deanna Kroetz, PhD

William M. Heller Mentor of the Year Award
American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education (AFPE)

2018: Kathy Giacomini, PhD

2016: Francis Szoka, PhD

UC San Francisco awards

Annual Faculty Research Lecture in Clinical Science
UCSF Academic Senate

2021: Esteban G. Burchard, MD, MPH

Bakar Aging Research Institute (BARI)’s Investigator Award

2022: Su Guo, PhD

Bowes Biomedical Investigator Program

2019: James Fraser, PhD

Byers Award Lecture in Basic Science

2021: Sophie Dumont, PhD

2020: James Fraser, PhD

2016: Michael Fischbach, PhD

Chancellor Awards for Diversity
Chancellor Award for the Advancement of Women

2021: Tejal Desai, PhD

Chancellor Awards for Diversity
Chancellor Award for Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Leadership

1994: Kathy Giacomini, PhD

Outstanding Faculty Mentorship Award

2018: Sophie Dumont, PhD

Sandler Program for Breakthrough Biomedical Research

2020: Tanja Kortemme, PhD

School of Pharmacy awards

Mary Anne Koda-Kimble Seed Award for Innovation

2022: Dmitry Kuchenov, PhD (postdoctoral scholar)

2021: Kai-Chun Chang, PhD (postdoctoral scholar), Stephanie Hsia, PharmD (faculty), Zhao Xiang, PhD (postdoctoral scholar), Linfeng Xu, PhD (postdoctoral scholar), Sook Wah Yee, PhD (postdoctoral scholar)

2020: Sook Wah Yee, PhD (postdoctoral scholar)

2015: James Fraser, PhD (faculty)

International and national fellows and members

American Academy of Arts & Sciences, Member

2024: Kathy Giacomini, PhD, BSPharm

American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellow

2018: Deanna Kroetz, PhD

American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) Fellow

2019: Tanja Kortemme, PhD

2017: Shuvo Roy, PhD

2011: Tejal Desai, PhD

Association of American Physicians (AAP)

2022: Esteban Burchard, MD, MPH

European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO) Postdoctoral Fellow

1999: Tanja Kortemme, PhD

European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) Graduate Fellow

1993: Tanja Kortemme, PhD

German National Academic Foundation ("Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes”) Scholarship

1989: Tanja Kortemme, PhD

Human Frontiers Science Program (HFSP) Postdoctoral Fellow

2000: Tanja Kortemme, PhD

International Academy of Medical and Biological Engineering, Fellow

2019: Tejal Desai, PhD

International Society for Computational Biology, Fellow

2018: Patricia C. Babbitt, PhD

National Academy of Inventors, Fellow

2019: Tejal Desai, PhD and Francis Szoka, PhD

National Academy of Medicine, Elected Member (formerly Institute of Medicine)

2015: Tejal Desai, PhD

2006: Kathy Giacomini, PhD

1987: Leslie Benet, PhD

National Academy of Sciences, Member

2018: Andrej Sali, PhD

Errors or omissions?