UCSF home page UCSF home page About UCSF Search UCSF UCSF Medical Center
Chrome CSS Drop Down Menu

Our scientists are using computation to master the immense quantity of information needed to understand and design proteins, which are responsible for biological function and form. And, they are using computation and other skills to create models of biological systems that describe critical aspects of normal function and how these change with disease.

The computational biologists in our department are concerned with the folding, function, evolution, and design of proteins. They are developing and applying computational methods for prediction of protein structure and function, for mapping evolution of protein sequences and their functions, and for designing proteins with desired structure and function. In collaboration with others, these methods facilitate the study of individual biological systems, drug discovery, pharmacogenomics and pharmaceutical sciences, systems biology, and synthetic biology. Our systems biologists study the mechanisms underlying complex biological processes as integrated systems of many, diverse, interacting components. They combine mathematical modeling and quantitative experiments to elucidate the design principles of complex biological systems and to predict their function and behavior. As such, systems biology has wide applications in the diagnosis and treatment of complex diseases, the design of new-generation drugs, and in future therapeutics. Our research in these areas includes the:

  Drug Development Sciences Pharmacogenomics Therapeutic Bioengineering Computational and Systems Biology Cellular and Molecular Engineering
Adam

Adam Abate, PhD
Assistant Professor

Abate profileAbate Laboratoryadam.abate@ucsf.edu

NoNoNoYesYes
Nadav

Nadav Ahituv, PhD
Associate Professor

Ahituv profileAhituv Laboratorynadav.ahituv@ucsf.eduAhituv directory lookup

NoYesNoNoNo
Patsy

Patsy Babbitt, PhD
Professor

Joint appointment:
Pharmaceutical Chemistry, School of Pharmacy

Babbitt profileBabbitt Laboratorybabbitt@cgl.ucsf.edu

NoNoNoYesYes
  Drug Development Sciences Pharmacogenomics Therapeutic Bioengineering Computational and Systems Biology Cellular and Molecular Engineering
Sourav

Sourav Bandyopadhyay, PhD
Assistant Professor

Bandyopadhyay profileBandyopadhyay Laboratorybandyopadhyays@cc.ucsf.eduBandyopadhyay directory lookup

NoNoNoYesNo
Les

Les Benet, PhD
Professor

Joint appointment:
Pharmaceutical Chemistry, School of Pharmacy

Benet profileBenet Laboratoryleslie.benet@ucsf.eduBenet directory lookup

YesNoNoNoNo
Frances

Frances Brodsky, D.Phil.
Professor

Joint appointments:
Microbiology and Immunology, School of Medicine; Pharmaceutical Chemistry, School of Pharmacy

Brodsky profileBrodsky Laboratoryfrances.brodsky@ucsf.eduBrodsky directory lookup

NoNoNoNoYes
  Drug Development Sciences Pharmacogenomics Therapeutic Bioengineering Computational and Systems Biology Cellular and Molecular Engineering
Esteban González

Esteban González Burchard, MD, MPH
Professor

Joint appointment:
Medicine, School of Medicine

Burchard profileBurchard Laboratoryesteban.burchard@ucsf.eduBurchard directory lookup

NoYesNoNoNo
Xin

Xin Chen, PhD
Adjunct Professor

Chen profileChen Laboratorychenx@pharmacy.ucsf.eduChen directory lookup

NoYesNoNoNo
Tejal

Tejal Desai, PhD
Professor

Desai profileDesai Laboratorytejal.desai@ucsf.eduDesai directory lookup

NoNoYesNoYes
  Drug Development Sciences Pharmacogenomics Therapeutic Bioengineering Computational and Systems Biology Cellular and Molecular Engineering
Michael

Michael Fischbach, PhD
Assistant Professor

Fischbach profileFischbach Laboratoryfischbach@fischbachgroup.orgFischbach directory lookup

NoNoNoYesYes
Leslie

Leslie Floren, PharmD
Academic Coordinator, Associate Adjunct Professor

Floren profileleslie.floren@ucsf.eduFloren directory lookup

YesNoNoNoNo
James

James Fraser, PhD
Assistant Professor

Fraser profileFraser Laboratoryjames.fraser@ucsf.eduFraser directory lookup

NoNoNoYesYes
  Drug Development Sciences Pharmacogenomics Therapeutic Bioengineering Computational and Systems Biology Cellular and Molecular Engineering
Kathy

Kathy Giacomini, PhD
Professor and Chair

Joint appointments:
Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology, School of Medicine; Pharmaceutical Chemistry, School of Pharmacy

Giacomini profileGiacomini Laboratorykathy.giacomini@ucsf.eduGiacomini directory lookup

NoYesNoNoYes
Su

Su Guo, PhD
Professor

Joint appointment:
Pharmaceutical Chemistry, School of Pharmacy

Guo profileGuo Laboratoryguos@pharmacy.ucsf.eduGuo directory lookup

NoYesNoNoNo
Ryan

Ryan Hernandez, PhD
Assistant Professor

Hernandez profileHernandez Laboratoryryan.hernandez@ucsf.eduHernandez directory lookup

NoNoNoYesNo
  Drug Development Sciences Pharmacogenomics Therapeutic Bioengineering Computational and Systems Biology Cellular and Molecular Engineering
Yong

Yong Huang, PhD
Associate Adjunct Professor

Huang profileHuang Laboratoryyong.huang@ucsf.eduHuang directory lookup

YesNoNoNoNo
C. Anthony

C. Anthony Hunt, PhD
Professor

Hunt profileHunt Laboratorya.hunt@ucsf.eduHunt directory lookup

YesNoYesYesNo
Ajay

Ajay Jain, PhD
Professor

Joint appointment:
Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center

Jain profileJain Laboratoryajain@jainlab.orgJain directory lookup

NoNoYesYesNo
  Drug Development Sciences Pharmacogenomics Therapeutic Bioengineering Computational and Systems Biology Cellular and Molecular Engineering
Tanja

Tanja Kortemme, PhD
Professor

Kortemme profileKortemme Laboratorykortemme@cgl.ucsf.eduKortemme directory lookup

NoNoNoYesYes
Deanna

Deanna Kroetz, PhD
Professor

Joint appointment:
Pharmaceutical Chemistry, School of Pharmacy

Kroetz profileKroetz Laboratorydeanna.kroetz@ucsf.eduKroetz directory lookup

NoYesNoNoNo
Emil

Emil Lin, PhD
Professor in Residence

Lin profileLin Laboratoryemil.lin@ucsf.eduLin directory lookup

YesNoNoNoNo
  Drug Development Sciences Pharmacogenomics Therapeutic Bioengineering Computational and Systems Biology Cellular and Molecular Engineering
Sarah

Sarah Nelson, PhD
Professor

Nelson profileNelson Laboratorysarah.nelson@radiology.ucsf.eduNelson directory lookup

NoNoYesNoNo
Shuvo

Shuvo Roy, PhD
Associate Professor

Roy profileRoy Laboratoryshuvo.roy@ucsf.eduRoy directory lookup

NoNoYesNoNo
Andrej

Andrej Sali, PhD
Professor

Joint appointment:
Pharmaceutical Chemistry, School of Pharmacy

Sali profileSali Laboratorysali@salilab.orgSali directory lookup

NoNoNoYesNo
  Drug Development Sciences Pharmacogenomics Therapeutic Bioengineering Computational and Systems Biology Cellular and Molecular Engineering
Nancy

Nancy Sambol, PharmD
Associate Clinical Professor

Joint appointment:
Clinical Pharmacy, School of Pharmacy

Sambol profilenancy.sambol@ucsf.eduSambol directory lookup

YesNoNoNoNo
Rada

Rada Savic, PhD
Assistant Professor

Savic profileSavic Laboratoryrada.savic@ucsf.edu

NoNoNoYesNo
Francis

Francis Szoka, PhD
Professor

Joint appointment:
Pharmaceutical Chemistry, School of Pharmacy

Szoka profileSzoka Laboratoryszoka@cgl.ucsf.eduSzoka directory lookup

NoNoYesNoYes
  Drug Development Sciences Pharmacogenomics Therapeutic Bioengineering Computational and Systems Biology Cellular and Molecular Engineering
Chao

Chao Tang, PhD
Adjunct Professor

Joint appointment:
Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics, School of Medicine

Tang profileTang Laboratorychao.tang@ucsf.eduTang directory lookup

NoNoNoYesNo
Davide

Davide Verotta, PhD
Professor in Residence

Joint appointment:
Epidemiology and Biostatistics, School of Medicine

Verotta profiledavide.verotta@ucsf.eduVerotta directory lookup

YesNoNoNoNo
Name Title Joint Appointments Drug Development Sciences Pharmacogenomics Therapeutic Bioengineering Computational and Systems Biology Cellular and Molecular Engineering

Fatal error: Call to undefined function printprimaryfacultylist() in /home/btsadmin/public_html/research/computational-+-systems-biology/content.php on line 26